Shortened Forms



ABC Australian Broadcasting Corporation
ABS Australian Bureau of Statistics
AEGL Acute Exposure Guideline Levels
AIIMS Australasian Inter-service Incident Management System
AMS Air Monitoring Station
AS Australian Standard
CAFS Compressed air foam system
CCTV Closed circuit television
CEO Chief Executive Officer
CFA Country Fire Authority
CGEIG Central Gippsland Essential Industries Group Incorporated
CO carbon monoxide
CTD Chronic Technological Disaster
DALY disability adjusted life year
DEECD Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
DEPI Department of Environment and Primary Industries
DHS Department of Human Services
DNRE Department of Natural Resources and Environment
DoH Department of Health
DPI Department of Primary Industries
DSDBI Department of State Development, Business and Innovation
DSE Department of Sustainability and Environment
DTPLI Department of Transport, Planning and Local Infrastructure
E. coli Escherichia coli
EES Environmental Effects Statement
EMC Emergency Management Commissioner
EMJPIC Emergency Management Joint Public Information Committee
EPA Environment Protection Authority
ESLO Emergency Services Liaison Officer
ESO1 Environmental Significance Overlay – Schedule 1 – Urban Buffer
ESV EnergySafe Victoria
FSC Fire Services Commissioner
HARA Hazelwood Ash Retention Area
HazMat Hazardous materials and items
HEPA filter high efficiency particulate air filter
HVP Hancock Victorian Plantations Pty Ltd
ICA Insurance Council of Australia
LPP Local Planning Provisions
LVAMN Latrobe Valley Air Monitoring Network
MHF Major Hazard Facility
MFB Metropolitan Fire Brigade
MHO MHO power substation
MMH major mining hazard
MWE Morwell East power substation
MWN Morwell North power substation
MWW Morwell West power substation
NAAQS National Ambient Air Quality Standards (US)
NATA National Association of Testing Authorities
NDRRA Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements
NEPC National Environment Protection Council
NEPM National Environment Protection Measure
NO2 nitrogen dioxide
O3 ozone
OHS Occupational Health and Safety
OHSMS Occupational Health and Safety Management System
PAH polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons
PM2.5 particulate matter of 2.5 micrometres or less in diameter
PM10 particulate matter of 10 micrometres or less in diameter
ppb parts per billion
ppm parts per million
SECV State Electricity Commission Victoria
SEIFA (IRSED) Rank Socio-Economic Indexes for Areas (Index of Relative Socio-Economic Disadvantage) Rank
SES Victoria State Emergency Service
SMS Safety Management System
sms short message service
SOP Standard Operating Procedure
SO2 sulphur dioxide
SUZ1 Special Use Zone – Schedule 1 – Brown Coal
TFB Total Fire Ban
μg/m3 micrograms per cubic metre of air
UFU United Firefighters Union
VCOSS Victorian Council of Social Service
VECCI Victorian Employers Chamber of Commerce and Industry
VFBV Volunteer Fire Brigades Victoria
VicPol Victoria Police
VOC volatile organic compound
VPP Victoria Planning Provisions
VWA Victorian WorkCover Authority
WHO World Health Organisation
YLD years lived with a disability


Shortened form


CFA Act Country Fire Authority Act 1958 (Vic)
Emergency Management Act Emergency Management Act 1986 (Vic)
Evidence Act Evidence (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1958 (Vic)
Mineral Industries Regulations Mineral Resources (Sustainable Development)
(Mineral Industries) Regulations 2013 (Vic)
Mineral Resources Act Mineral Resources (Sustainable Development) Act 1990 (Vic)
Mineral Resources Amendment Act Mineral Resources (Sustainable Development) Amendment Act 2014 (Vic)
OHS Act Occupational Health and Safety Act 2004 (Vic)
OHS Regulations Occupational Health and Safety Regulations 2007 (Vic)
Planning and Environment Act Planning and Environment Act 1987 (Vic)
Public Health and Wellbeing Act Public Health and Wellbeing Act 2008 (Vic)